Get to Know Monica Scott, HR Coordinator

Get to Know Monica Scott, HR Coordinator

When you’re a company in growth mode, it’s important to have a super sharp specialist to head up your recruiting and HR objectives. Monica Scott has been instrumental in attracting and recruiting some of the best IT professionals in the industry.

Where did you grow up? I was born and raised in Georgia but to be specific in the Buford/Flowery Branch area.

Tell me about your family. My boyfriend Drew and I have been together for 3 ½ years. We live in Bethlehem with our 1-year-old Husky named Myla and we have a black lab named Dixie who stays with my parents. My parents live in Hoschton but we see them multiple times a week. My mom, Montyce has been in HR her entire career and is currently the HR Manager at Carter’s in Braselton. My dad, Don owns his own Pawn Shop in Gainesville, has been in the Pawn business for 32 years, and has owned his own for 20 years. My younger sister, Cara goes to school at UNG in Dahlonega and is studying Psychology. I might be biased but my family is the best!

Monica and pups


What is your favorite food? I love Mexican food... but honestly, anything chicken is right up my ally.

What's your favorite type of exercise? Running

Do you run competitively?  Not anymore, when I was younger I ran cross-country to stay in shape for soccer season. I found my love for running then.

What is your favorite playlist right now and why? I really love Carrie Underwood’s Christmas album. Anything country is generally what I listen to.

Do you have any hobbies? Does shopping for home décor count? (Editor's note: yes it does) I have recently found a passion for decorating our house so any chance I get I am shopping for new home décor.

Where are some of the places you have traveled to? And what was your favorite? We travel to Destin, Fla., at least once a year. My family and I have also been frequent cruisers. We have been to St. Thomas, Grand Turk, Nassau, Mahogany Bay, Belize, Cozumel, and more. I will say though my favorite place is Destin, but that could be because it reminds me of family and being familiar with it.

What is something most people do not know about you? I have ridden horses since I was little. My first time on a horse was when I was 2 months old. I showed horses competitively from the time I was 10 up until after my senior year of high school.

Monicas family


What is one thing you avoid like the plague? Vegetables

Favorite quote? “She is clothed in strength and dignity and laughs without fear of the future” Proverbs 31:25

Favorite pro football team? I am not a pro football fan but I do love the Georgia Bulldogs! GO DAWGS!

What did you do before joining MIS? Before I worked at MIS, I worked for Charming Charlie’s for four years. I started as a Sales Associate and worked my way up to the General Store Manager. I have also never just had one job. I really enjoy having a side gig... so I have also worked at Twisted Oar as a Server for five years.

Tell us a little bit, about what you do each day in your job. I do all things recruiting from the time we receive the resume up until making them the offer and after. I also help with reviews, event planning, writing job descriptions, and helping standardize our recruiting process.

What do you like best about working at MIS? I really enjoy the people and the culture here at MIS.

What do you like to do for fun outside of work? I enjoy hanging out with friends and family in my free time.